Herman Roe Editorial Writing Award

The Herman Roe Editorial Award given annually by the Minnesota Newspaper Association is in memory of a man who was, for more than 50 years, publisher of the Northfield News until his death in 1961.

For many years, he was a National Editorial Association (now NNA) field director and was named an honorary president of the Minnesota Editorial Association (now MNA). He was given the coveted Amos Award in 1958 by the national association.

Across the nation, because of his work as a field director, he was known as “Mr. Country Editor.” He was extremely interested in politics and believed newspapers should take strong editorial stands.

Strangely, while he encouraged his editors to write editorials, during the periods that he edited his paper, he did not write formal editorials. But every week, there was his column on the editorial page, at least a newspaper column long, that really included a group of editorials.

Award Recipients
1971-1972     Mary Dale Jester, Excelsior-Deephaven, Minnetonka Sun
1972-1973     Lynn Smith, Monticello Times
1973-1974     Owen Heiberg, Herman Review
1974-1975     Karen Anderson, Henning Advocate1975-
1976              Larry Davenport, New Hope-Plymouth Post
1976-1977      Peggy Bakken, Osseo-Maple Grove Press
1977-1978      Bill Macklin, The Journal, New Ulm
1978-1979      Frank Sisser, The Waconia Patriot1979-
1980              Myron J. Schober, Tri-County Record, Rushford
1980-1981      Jerry Ringhofer, Owatonna People’s Press
1981-1982      Karen Kitchen, Isanti News
1982-1983      Jim Blubaugh, International Falls Daily Journal
1983-1984      Mike Adair, Brooklyn Park Post
1984-1985      Jim Pumarlo, Red Wing Republican Eagle
1985-1986      Bill Hanna, Mesabi Daily News, Virginia
1986-1987      William C. Boyne, Rochester Post-Bulletin
1987-1988      Ron Lindquist, Starbuck Times
1988-1989      Arlin Albrecht, International Falls Daily Journal
1989-1990      Mary Rains & Jim Baden, Mille Lacs Messenger, Isle
1990-1991      Debra J. Flemming, Owatonna People’s Press
1991-1992      Cathy Hay, Albert Lea Tribune
1992-1993      Paul Adams, Agri News, Rochester
1993-1994      Steve Prinsen, Annandale Advocate
1994-1995      Kitty Anderson, Biwabik Times
1995-1996      Tim Krohn, The Free Press, Mankato
1996-1997      Julie Nordine, The Exponent, East Grand Forks
1997-1998      Julie Nordine, North Star News, Karlstad
1998-1999      Tom Klein, Daily Journal, International Falls
1999-2000      Al Edenloff, Echo Press, Alexandria
2000-2001      Randy Krebs, St. Cloud Times
2001-2002      Al Edenloff, Echo Press, Alexandria
2002-2003      Nathan Bowe, Detroit Lakes Newspapers
2003-2004      Al Edenloff, Echo Press, Alexandria
2004-2005      Brad Swenson, The Bemidji Pioneer
2005-2006      Randy Krebs, St. Cloud Times
2006-2007      Robin Washington, Duluth News Tribune
2007-2008      Erik Posz, Redwood Gazette, Redwood Falls
2008-2009      Larry Dobson, Star Herald, Dodge Center/Hayfield
2009-2010      Randy Krebs, St. Cloud Times
2010-2011       Jack Zaleski, The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead
2011-2012       Al Edenloff, Echo Press
2012-2013       Brett Larson, Mille Lacs Messenger, Isle
2013-2014       Kathy Vos, The Free Press, Mankato
2014-2015       Andrew Broman, Litchfield Independent Review
2015-2016       Chuck Frederick, Duluth News Tribune
2016-2017       Jack Zaleski, The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead
2018-2019      Kathy Vos, The Free Press, Mankato
2019-2020     Joe Spear, The Free Press, Mankato