Rollin Bergman Elected MNA President

Rollin Bergman Elected MNA President


Rollin Bergman, owner of Page One Publications in East Grand Forks

Bloomington, Minn. (January 25, 2013) – Rollin Bergman, owner of Page One Publications in East Grand Forks, Minn., was elected president of the Minnesota Newspaper Association (MNA) Friday, January 25, during the Association’s annual meeting at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Bloomington, Minn.  Bergman is the 133rd president of MNA, representing nearly 350 newspapers across the state.

Bergman also served as the 125th MNA president in 2005. He is only the second person in the history of MNA, founded in 1867, to serve two terms on the Board of Directors.  Harlan P. Hall of the St. Paul Globe, and later the St. Paul Dispatch, served as president in 1881 and again in 1891.

“I am honored and looking forward to once again serving as president of the Association, working with a talented and diverse board, along with executive director Lisa Hills and her staff at the MNA office,” said Bergman.

Bergman started his career in the newspaper business at the Norman County Index in Ada, MN, at the age of 15 and has been active in the business continuously since that time. In 1991 he and his wife Julie formed Page 1 Publications, Inc., a group of community newspapers in Northwestern Minnesota. Julie was MNA’s 117th president in 1997.  Rollin and Julie are the only husband and wife pair to serve as presidents of the Association.

During his many years of service to MNA, Bergman has served on many committees and has been chairman of the Advertising Committee for more than 10 years.  He also was a two-term president of the Minnesota Newspaper Foundation that operates a printing museum at the Minnesota State Fair.  Julie is the current president of the Minnesota Newspaper Foundation.

Rollin and Julie reside in East Grand Forks, MN.

Others elected at the MNA annual meeting include:

  • First Vice President: Pete Mohs, Lake Country Echo, Pequot Lakes
  • Second Vice President: Joni Harms, Daily Globe, Worthington
  • Third Vice President:  Jason Brown, Long Prairie Leader
  • Director for Three-Year Term: Christerfer Schultz, Herald Journal, Howard Lake
  • Treasurer for One-Year Term: Jeffery Coolman, ECM-Sun Media Group

Scott Schmeltzer, Albert Lea Tribune and Michael Jacobson, Paynesville Press will continue to serve as directors.  Kevin Anderson, Mille Lacs Messenger, Isle will serve as immediate past president.

# # #

About the Minnesota Newspaper Association

The Minnesota Newspaper Association, a voluntary association of all general-interest newspapers in the state of Minnesota, acts on behalf of the newspaper press of the state.  It represents its newspapers in the legislature and in court, sells advertising for newspapers, operates a mailing service (press releases), sponsors a large annual convention in the Twin Cities, and engages in a vigorous program of training persons for newspaper work.  Find out more by visiting