Joni Harms Elected MNA President

Joni Harms Elected MNA President

Joni-Head Shot MNA PresBloomington, Minn. (January 30, 2015) – Joni Harms, publisher of the Daily Globe in Worthington, Minn., was elected president of the Minnesota Newspaper Association (MNA), Friday, January 30, during the Association’s annual meeting at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington. Harms is the 135th president of MNA, representing more than 340 newspapers across the state.

“I am extremely honored to serve as president of the Association,” Harms said. “I feel fortunate to be surrounded by a strong, enthusiastic board of directors and staff led by Executive Director Lisa Hills.”

Harms attended Iowa State University and is a graduate of Des Moines Area Community College, Ankeny, Iowa. She joined the Daily Globe as an accounting intern in 1978, and worked as a circulation clerk before becoming business manager in 1981. She was promoted to Assistant General Manager, Director of Advertising and Finance in 2001, and was appointed Publisher in September 2006.

Harms has worked for the Vance family, Midwest Newspapers, Thomson Newspapers and current Daily Globe owner Forum Communications Co. during her tenure at the newspaper.

During her years of service to MNA, Harms has served as chair of the Advertising Committee and also served on the Member Services Committee. Additionally, she is fundraising chair for the Minnesota News Media Institute.

“It is truly a privilege to be a part of the distinguished MNA presidents who have served over the years,” Harms said. “I look forward to the opportunities presented in the coming year.”

Harms has also been an active participant in local organizations. She is a past president of the United Way of Nobles County, Worthington Windsurfing Regatta and Unvarnished Music Festival, Worthington Area Chamber of Commerce and Convention & Visitors Bureau, and Osceola County American Cancer Society boards.

Harms and her husband, Calvin, live in Harris, Iowa, where he farms. They have two daughters — Megan, 31, of Denver, Colo., and Teri, 28, of Ankeny, Iowa.

Others elected at the MNA annual meeting include:

  • First Vice President: Michael Jacobson, Paynesville Press
  • Second Vice President: Christerfer Schultz, Herald Journal, Howard Lake
  • Third Vice President:  Marge Winkelman, ECM Publishers, Coon Rapids
  • Director for Three-Year Term: Chris Knight,  APG Media, Virginia
  • Director for Two-Year Term: Karin Ramige-Cornwell, McLeod County Chronicle, Glencoe
  • Treasurer:  Justin Lessman, Jackson County Pilot

Mike Dalton, Cannon Falls Beacon, will continue to serve as a director. Pete Mohs, Echo Publishing, Pequot Lakes will serve as immediate past president.


# # #

About the Minnesota Newspaper Association

The Minnesota Newspaper Association, a voluntary association of all general-interest newspapers in the state of Minnesota, acts on behalf of the newspaper press of the state.  It represents its newspapers in the legislature and in court, sells advertising for newspapers, operates a mailing service (press releases), sponsors a large annual convention in the Twin Cities, and engages in a vigorous program of training persons for newspaper work.  Find out more by visiting