Congrats to 2016 NNA Newspaper Contest Winners!

Congrats to 2016 NNA Newspaper Contest Winners!

NNA 2016 newspaper contest winners announced

2016winnerlogos2SPRINGFIELD, IL—Judging results have been processed and winners of the National Newspaper Association 2016 Better Newspaper Editorial Contest and Better Newspaper Advertising Contest have been posted online at

Winners will be recognized at the award breakfast to be held Saturday, Sept. 24, during NNA’s 130th Annual Convention & Trade Show at the Franklin Marriott Cool Springs in Franklin, TN. Visit NNA’s convention webpage to register online for the convention or to purchase breakfast tickets:

There were 1,436 entries in the Better Newspaper Editorial Contest and 316 entries in the Better Newspaper Advertising Contest for a total of 1,752 entries. A total of 470 awards were won by 151 member newspapers in 39 states.

California had the most combined BNEC/BNAC wins with 66, followed by Texas with 50 and Wyoming with 39.

The full lists of winners by categories and newspaper are available on the contest webpage at Winners will be recognized in a special contest PDF available online following the annual convention. Places won in General Excellence categories will be announced during the awards breakfast in September.

Judging was performed primarily by active community newspaper editors and publishers, as well as retired university journalism professors and retired or former newspaper professionals.

Established in 1885, NNA is the voice of America’s community newspapers and is the one of the largest newspaper associations in the country.


Congratulations to the following winning Minnesota Newspapers!

Eden Valley-Watkins Voice

Frazee-Vergas Forum, Frazee, Minnesota

Hutchinson Leader, Hutchinson, Minnesota

Litchfield Independent Review, Litchfield, Minnesota

Steele County Times, Blooming Prairie, Minnesota

The Echo Press, Alexandria, Minnesota

The Paynesville Press, Paynesville, Minnesota

The Pine Journal, Cloquet, Minnesota


Visit the NNA’s contest website to learn more about the winning entries: